> Zum Inhalt

The ECODESIGN Team


Ao.Univ.Prof.DI Dr. Wolfgang Wimmer

Wolfgang Wimmer holds since 2002 a professorship at the Vienna University of Technology in Engineering Design and ECODESIGN. Wolfgang Wimmer is the author of two books on ECODESIGN. Over the last 20 years Wolfgang Wimmer has been leading many ECODESIGN projects with leading companies such as Philips Austria, Steelcase Inc., Siemens Transportation among others.

In 2005 Wolfgang Wimmer founded the "ECODESIGN company" engineering & management consultancy GmbH located in Vienna, Seoul and Ottawa. Since then he is the managing director of the ECODESIGN company.

E-Mail: wimmer@ecodesign.at, Tel: +43 (1) 58801 30744


Dr. Rainer Pamminger

Since 2002 Rainer Pamminger is researcher at the Vienna University of Technology in the area of sustainable product design and energy efficiency. He is leading different national and EU funded projects focusing mainly on the development and application of tools and methods for environmental assessment of products and services (e.g. ECODESIGN PILOT), for process improvement (e.g. energy efficient cooling systems) and environmental communication (e.g. energy efficiency label for plastic processing machines) within industry areas like electronics, industrial machines, railway, automotive, furniture, construction, etc.
Dr. Rainer Pammiger studied Mechanical Engineering at the Vienna Technical University (VUT) and the University of Salford (UK). He holds a PhD in Mechanical Engineering he concentrated his work on the integration of environmental aspects into the product development process for tramways.
Since 2011 he is part of the "ECODESIGN company" engineering & management consultancy GmbH, and responsible for project aquise and for the conception and development of tools that integrate environmental aspects on product development processes of various companies.
Additionally he is External Expert for the European Commission to undertake proposal evaluations in the topic of Energy Efficiency within Horizon2020.

E-Mail: pamminger@ecodesign.at, Tel: +43 (1) 58801 30753


DI Stephan Schmidt, MSc

Stephan Schmidt has completed the diploma program Spatial Planning at the TU Vienna and additionaly graduated at the FH Technikum Vienna studying "Renewable Urban Energy Systems". Especially the theses which were created in cooperation with the austrian environmental ageny and the AIT respectively, focused on the topic of sustainability and the question of its measurement and assessment. Since 2016 he works at the research group ECODESIGN. Besides working as a research assistent for the KATCH_e project he is also responsible for the acquisition and elaboration of new research applications.

E-Mail: schmidt@ecodesign.at, Tel: +43 (1) 58801 30758


DI Sebastian Glaser

Sebastian Glaser studied Mechanical Engineering at the Technical University Vienna, specialising in the fields of mechatronics and product development. After his graduation he worked from 2015 to 2016 at the ECODESIGN Company. His area of responsibility included environmentally sound product development as well as mechatronics.

In 2016 he started working for the ECODESIGN department. He predominatly works on the sustainablySMART project, focusing on the redesign of smart mobile devices in consideration of ECODESIGN and circular economy aspects.

E-Mail: glaser@ecodesign.at; Tel: +43 (1) 58801 30751

> Zum Inhalt

Das ECODESIGN Team


Ao.Univ.Prof.DI Dr. Wolfgang Wimmer

Wolfgang Wimmer studierte Maschinenbau an der Technischen Universität Wien wo er 2002 im Fach Konstruktionslehre – ECODESIGN habilitierte. Wolfgang Wimmer ist Autor von dreo ECODESIGN Fachbüchern. Während der letzten 20 Jahre hat Wolfgang Wimmer zahlreiche Industrieprojekte im Bereich ECODESIGN geleitet. Darunter solche mit Philips Austria, Steelcase Inc., Siemens Transportation und anderen.

2005 gründete Wolfgang Wimmer die "ECODESIGN company" engineering & management consultancy GmbH mit Sitz in Wien, Seoul und Ottawa. Er ist seit der Gründung der geschäftsführende Gesellschafter.

E-Mail: wimmer@ecodesign.at, Tel: +43 (1) 58801 30744


Dr. Rainer Pamminger

Rainer Pamminger ist seit 2002 ist er am Institut für Konstruktionswissenschaften im Forschungsbereich ECODESIGN angestellt und leitet verschiedene national bzw. EU geförderte Projekte. Er arbeitet dort an der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Methoden und Tools für die Umweltbewertung (z.B. Ökobilanzierung),  die Produktentwicklung (z.B. ECODESIGN PILOT) und die Umweltkommunikation (z.B. Energie-Effizienz-Label) von Produkten von Produkt-Dienstleistungssystemen.
Er studierte Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen Maschinenbau, mit Spezialisierung Produktion und Betrieb, an der Technischen Universität Wien und an der University of Salford (GB). In seiner Dissertation beschäftigte er sich mit der Integration von umweltrelevanten Anforderungen in den Produktentwicklungsprozess am Anwendungsbeispiel einer Straßenbahn des Unternehmens Bombardier.
Neben seiner wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit unterstützt er seit 2011 die ECODESIGN company GmbH bei der Projektaquise sowie inhaltlich bei der Entwicklung von Lösungsansätzen zur Integration von Umweltaspekten in den Produktentwicklungsprozess bei Unternehmen.
Zusätzlich ist er für die Europäische Kommission als externer Berater für die Evaluierung von internationalen Forschungsanträgen für das Thema Energieeffizienz tätig.

E-Mail: pamminger@ecodesign.at, Tel: +43 (1) 58801 30753


DI Stephan Schmidt, MSc

Stephan Schmidt hat an der TU Wien das Diplomstudium Raumplanung und Raumordnung abgeschlossen und zusätzlich an der FH Technikum Wien das Masterstudium „Erneuerbare Urbane Energiesysteme“ absolviert. Bei beiden Studien, insbesondere bei den beiden Abschlussarbeiten welche in Kooperation mit dem Umweltbundesamt und dem AIT erstellt wurden, standen die Themen Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltbewertung im Fokus der Forschungsarbeit. Seit 2016 arbeitet er am Fachbereich ECODESIGN. Neben der wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeit am Forschungsprojekt KATCH_e fällt auch die Akquierierung und Ausarbeitung neuer Forschungsanträge in seinen Aufgabenbereich.

E-Mail: schmidt@ecodesign.at, Tel: +43 (1) 58801 30758


DI Sebastian Glaser

Sebastian Glaser studierte an der Technischen Universität Wien Maschinenbau und spezialisierte sich in den Bereichen Mechatronik und Produktentwicklung. Nach seinem Studienabschluss arbeitete er 2015 und 2016 in der ECODESIGN company. In seinen Aufgabenbereich fielen sowohl die umweltgerechte Produktentwicklung, als auch die Messtechnik und Mechatronik.

Seit Ende 2016 ist er am Institut für Konstruktionswissenschaften und technische Logistik im Forschungsbereich Ecodesign angestellt. Dort arbeitet er vorwiegend am sustainablySMART Projekt mit dem Fokus auf nachhaltigem Re-Design von mobilen IT Geräten unter Berücksichtigung der Aspekte des Ecodesigns und der Circular Economy.

E-Mail: glaser@ecodesign.at; Tel: +43 (1) 58801 30751